top of page

Bus life


We travel to and fro from Kampala to Kasese on the Link Bus, and usually we have no problems...but yesterday was a different story. Due to the presidential inauguration occurring today in Kampala, the streets were filled with mobs and loud cheering. We navigated our way through town to the bus park with our hands full of luggage to find our seat on the first bus leaving for Kasese.

The first 4 hours were smooth until our bus started leaking fuel. We had just enough to reach Fort Portal where we then had to wait for repairs. Before repairs were complete another bus heading to Kasese pulled up so it was a frantic dash to grab all our luggage to get a seat on the new bus. We elbowed our way on and off we went. An hour in, at 7pm I start smelling smoke and then saw it billowing out my window. then 1 minute later, BOOM! Blown tire right below me.

It's dark, we're in a pretty remote place and many men are now getting off the bus to help. At 7:30pm I stuck my head out to see what I could observe, and there was one man with a small flash light in his mouth trying to loosen the lug nuts on the bus tire while 12 men stood and watched along the dark street.

I turned on my iPhone flashlight and passed it out the window to the bus conductor and the whole situation shifts= my phones light is BRIGHT! Now the guy can actually see what he's doing! What an ordeal. By 8:30pm we were back on the road, and by 9:30pm we were home ....then the fumigation had to begin.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page